Curriculum Framework

Curriculum Map Overview

Curriculum Map Details


Curriculum Resources

Grades K-4

Grades 5-8

Grades 9-12

The Alaska Tsunami Education Program curriculum map summarizes nine units of instruction for grades K through 12. Lessons at the lower grade levels introduce basic concepts that build in comple xity at the higher grade levels.

The curriculum includes hands-on, standard-aligned classroom lessons, visual aids, interactive multimedia, and GIT (Global Information Technology) exercises. GIT exercises teach the basics of mapping, graphing with GPS, using Google Earth to create visualizations of tsunami runups, and more.